Life Update

Hi there!

I would like to apologize for not being here in so long, but I have a good reason for it, I promise.

The reason I first started this blog was to reach out to other people who may be having the same issues and have been struggling like I am because of this or any other disease. My mom suggested I started writing about the way I felt, because she thought it would make me feel better. She thought good things would come from it, but she didn’t expect that this would happen…

On my last post, the one about my family, I wrote about my father, the one who left to go back to Brazil when I was little, and hadn’t been in contact since. Well, somehow he came across my blog, and contacted me after 9 years. My mom has set my blog up to where she has to give permission to a comment before it gets posted, she said some people are mean and she wanted to protect me from those people who never have anything to say, in case one ever came along. Well, she was at work, and when her phone buzzed she never expected to see my father’s name on the screen. But, there it was. He had posted (or tried to anyways)a comment on my last blog entry. She didn’t even get to finish reading the first sentence and could not control her crying. She called me on the phone and asked me to stay on the phone with her while I opened up my blog on my computer at home, and told me to check my last comment. I was arguing with her that I was busy doing something else and why did I have to do that right then, when I saw his name and started reading the comment, I was paralyzed. I could not move, I could not speak, all I could do was cry. All I could make out to say to her was “Can I text him?”, since he had left all of his contact information.

Within a couple of hours of the time he left that comment, we were in contact and talking like we had never even been apart. I told him I didn’t care about the reason why he left, or the reason he hadn’t contacted me all of those years, all I cared about was making up for the time we had been apart.

I found out he is happily married to a very pretty lady, but doesn’t have any other kids. I was proud to find out he took the time he was away to study, he went to Law School in Brazil and became a police detective. I also found out I have a living grandmother and grandfather who love me very much and have kept all of the keepsakes my mom and dad saved when I was born. I have 4 cousins also, 2 boys and 2 girls. They are all about my age, some a couple of years older, or a couple of years younger. I also have 2 uncles who look just like my dad. I feel complete now knowing that I have a whole other family and that they have always thought about me, and loved me through all of these years.

My daddy and I have been talking almost everyday, we share our everyday lives with each other through the internet, and we are planning for me to go to Brazil and visit the whole family in the beginning of next year. I am so happy and excited to have found him again, and I can’t wait to see him again in person!

So, if for no other reason, at least this blog brought me my father back and gave my life a new meaning, a new reason to be excited, and something else to look forward to, and for that I am thankful.

You can check out the comment that started all of this on my “FAMILY” entry!

Stay tuned for more posts! I have a lot more catching up to do!

Thank you for stopping by! Until next time!

Caroline

2 comments

  1. jcrohnie715 · October 10

    Wow! What an amazing story! That’s so exciting you have the opportunity to reconnect with your dad! Wishing you health and happiness!

    Like

  2. Evellin Lima · October 9

    Caroline, you may not know me but I remember you since you were born. Me and your mom were middle school friends. I was so happy with this great news. You are a very smart girl and I wish you continue to post on this blog and many more surprises will come with it. I wish you the best and you put me in tears with your new update of your life. Proud of you and your mom for raising such a beautiful girl like you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

