Normal Life

Hey again, guys and gals! All I have ever talked about on this blog so far, is living with Ulcertive Colitis. So, I decided this time, that instead I am gonna talk about my life when I feel like my OLD self, like the minutes I don’t spend having to take medicine, or when we are not planning for another colonoscopy, when I don’t feel like I have to use the bathroom, and when people don’t make weird faces at me for using the handicap restroom.

   I have mentioned them before on an earlier post, but let me tell you a little more about my siblings. I have three of them, one brother and two sisters. Shawn, my little brother, is the crazy one, he is sweet, loving, caring, affectionate, that all of course, when he isn’t busy biting me, pulling my hair, or destroying my room. He is learning how to talk, and everyday it gets more and more awesome having him as a brother, and watching him grow. Penelope, my little sister, is the cutest, most precious little girl I have ever seen, she is always smiling, she also enjoys eating her feet, letting out silly screams, and even sucking on some limes. And then, there is Caitlynn, my step sister, who has been a best friend to me since her dad and my mom met almost 4 years ago. She too has gone through a lot, she has broken her hip, her shoulder, her ankle, a finger… Let’s just say she is very accident prone, but don’t tell her I said that. My mom’s name is Gabrielle, but everyone calls her Gabby, she is from Brazil, but has lived in the US for 15 years now. She works a lot, but whenever she is not working, she is spending time with me and my siblings, and making sure we have everything we need, and that includes countless hugs, kisses, and sweet, comforting words. Last but not least, in my immediate family, there is Shawn, my stepdad. I am blessed to be able to call him my dad, and appreciate all of the times he has made me feel better, held me, and comforted me about my disease and many other issues. Over all, I have a pretty big family, a lot of them still live in Brazil, so I don’get to see them much. I have also, a biological father, who left for Brazil when I was 2, who I haven’t gotten to know, unfortunately.

Like I mentioned before as well, I’m in Fifth Grade, right now, I turned 11 years old back in October. I have quite a lot of really close friends. I have one really good friend that has been there for me since day one which is my mom, and I have other friends too, Lakyla, Jeremiah, Braeden, and Tommy. These guys have been here for me to open up with and talk to for forever now. They are also great at comforting me, and making me feel special. I couldn’t have asked for better friends. We’re making a book, and if it ever gets published, make sure to grab a copy, It’s called Emily and it is the story of an not so nice doll trying to hurt all five of these kids who just happen to be me, Lakyla, Braeden, Jeremiah, and Tommy. You know you wanna read it.

Some of my other friends include Cyanna, Lydia, Tavoi, and Kiara. Cyanna is my super cool friend who, with her dad and stepmom, take me on these super cool adventures, which include but aren’t limited to a SUPER AMAZING trip to the beach this past summer, the Planetarium, multiple different mystery rooms, making Gingerbread houses, playing board games, watching awesome scary movies, rocking out to every different kind of music, and making multiple trips to the ice cream parlor. They go out of their way to make me feel special, on normal days, and even more on my birthday, and Christmas. I just love spending time with them! They have all been here for me in their own way. Tavoi and Kiara love to make me laugh and let go. I need friends like these to remind me, I am still just a typical 5th grade girl, trying to find herself, enjoy my childhood/pre teen years for a bit and be happy.

Aside from all of these great people I have in my life, I also spend my time binge watching One Tree Hill on Netflix, listening and memorizing EVERY SINGLE JUSTIN BIEBER song, (I AM A BELIEBER!!! Since I was 6!!! What can I say?), being silly on Musically (follow me @carolinelovizotto!), worrying about whether or not I look cute, my clothes match, and trying new (and easy) hair-dos that my straight, thin, boring hair will allow me to experiment with. I am also trying to learn how to play the guitar, trying to convince my mom to allow me to follow in her footsteps and play some volleyball, or my uncle’s footsteps and play soccer. I absolutely love school, and somehow even though I have missed over 4 weeks of school this last semester, I have managed to achieve all A’s and 1 B on my report card, and am doing my very best to get ready for Middle School.

mommycarolinejustinbieber

Me, 6 years old. My mom, 22. Hardcore Beliebers!

carolinelakyla

All A’s and ONE B even after missing 4 weeks worth of school during the semester!

 

 

2 comments

  1. Carlie · January 18, 2016

    Caroline,
    I just want you to know, and I tell Lakyla all the time, I think you are quite an amazing young lady!!! I am so happy and proud that my daughter has you as her best friend!!

    Like

    • carolineschaffer · January 26, 2016

      Hey Carlie It’s me Caroline and I just wanted to say thank you for reading my blog, and how happy I am for being Lakyla’s friend she truly is the most craziest, weirdest,most funniest and sweetest girl in the world and i’m not joking about that weird part but that’s what I love most about her. I hope that it is forever that we all know each other and I also wanted to say thank you for being there for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

